Post Christmas Blues & A Laugh Out Loud Book Reccomendation

Hello everyone!

I hope you all had a truly magical Christmas and were surrounded by loved ones, delicious food, bubbly and mince pies oh and that Santa left you some beautiful gifts! I was utterly spoilt by my friends and family.  So thankful to all of them 🙂  As always, Christmas is over waaaaay to quickly. It is my most favourite time of the year and I cannot help but feel somewhat sad that it is over.  Our beautiful Christmas tree is still standing proud in our lounge and it will be such a shame when it is time to take it down.  I asked Daniel if we could keep it…he said he wasn’t keen on have just a stick in the corner of the room with decorations on it after all the needles have fallen off! 😦 fair point! haha!

photo-1

We got to spend our Christmas in a village in the Cotswolds that resembled the type of scene you would see on a Christmas card… so, so enchanting!  Had the chance to sit by fires and read, watch films – I watched The Snowman & The Snowdog – OMG if I hadn’t of been sat in front of so many people I would have sobbed my heart out! I got to bake mince pies with my niece, watch her and my nephew prepare for Santa’s arrival, offering him beer (lucky devil!), mince pies and of course Reindeer food & water.  How lovely 🙂  Seeing their excitement upon recieving their gifts was so special. Awwwww…

Cute niece leaving mince pies for Santa!

Cute niece leaving mince pies for Santa!

Anyway, over Christmas I read a great book by Caitlin Moran, “How To Be A Woman”.  I highly recommend it.  I laughed out loud, made my fiance read passages again and again from it, read passages out loud frequently and smiled at the situations she found herself in while growing up as they echoed my own experiences.

Image

For anyone, male or female who fancies reading a comical yet honest account of what is like to grow up as a woman while also questioning how feminism stands today, I suggest you read it.  I found this an easy and relaxing way of learning more about being a woman in today’s society through this than always academic texts, which can be somewhat heavy to digest at times.

Anyone else had any good reads over Christmas?  I am now on to “Build A Business From Your Kitchen Table” by the two female founders of notonthehighstreet.com.  Really interested in female entrepreneurship, so if any of you out there have started your own business, I would love to hear alllll about it!

Have a great weekend, and if I don’t get a chance to blog before… HAPPY NEW YEAR! xxx

3 thoughts on “Post Christmas Blues & A Laugh Out Loud Book Reccomendation

  1. I just might have to check out that book! I’ve been reading Team of Rivals, the Doris Kearns Goodwin biography of Lincoln and his four rivals for the 1860 Republican presidential nomination – it’s a fascinating look into what life was really like in the mid 1800’s.

    • Hey! 🙂 You would really enjoy Caitlin Moran’s book, if you do read it please let me know what you thought. Trying to broaden my reading so everything isn’t so academic. About to read another, “Beyond the boys club” – about female entrepreneuship.

      Team of Rivals – I haven’t heard of that, sounds really interesting. Lincoln was legendary so I would really like to read that Erika. Thank you x

Leave a Reply

