It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Ok, maybe not so much but I am getting in the mode of compling list of gifts that I want to get for family and friends.  I have decided this year not to go to crazy (if I had won the Euromillions on Friday or indeed yesterday, then I would do quite the opposite).  I love Christmas, I love the smell of Christmas, the tradition of it, the old films (my favourite, White Christmas), the GOOD Christmas songs, pulling Christmas crackers, seeing people enjoy their gifts, the cat trying to sleep in the branches of the tree, the festivities, the turning on of the lights in the high street, mulled wine and how can I forget… MINCE PIES! I could actually continue going on for ages… Alas, I will not put you through that!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am determined this year (as I do say every year) that I will make batches of Mince Pies.   So this year, I really am going to do it. We are getting a real Christmas tree this year and although we have plenty of Christmas decorations, I am soooo tempted to go and buy some more or even make our own…

One thing that I am sure about is that I want to buy products from local businesses, from amazing craft designers, sites like Folksy and Etsy are great, perhaps go and find some Christmas markets to attend… Out of ease and the offers, I guess it is sometimes easier to just go to the high street or your shopping mall and just purchase things from the usual shops.  However, is it not far nicer to give a gift to someone that is handmade and designed in the UK, supporting people who are not part of the big consumer driven society.  I would far rather spend that little bit more to get something more creative, individual and quirky, it shows you have put some real thought into it too.  I bet items like these are treasured more by the receiver too.

And so, the moral of my post is, buy locally, support your local businesses and craftsman and craftswoman.  So, that leaves me with one last thing to say…who knows a good Mince Pie recipie?

Have a great day everyone x

One thought on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. I would love to know a good mince pie recipe too…of course, I am the only one who eats them in my house. I do try to buy local where ever possible, especially produce. When we can’t buy local we tend to go straight to etsy. This year we are having to be extremely thrifty as things are super tight so I am making a lot of our presents this year. I am enjoying it so much which is unexpected and knowing my beautiful girls, they will appreciate everything they get even if it is a badly sewn by their mother.

Leave a Reply

