A day of reading…with a gingernut and a hot cuppa!

Afternoon Everyone..

Hope you are well, the weather is utterly miserable in my part of the world – even the dog is refusing to step outside! Yet, this type of weather makes my day of reading and researching for my course that more enjoyable, armed with cups of tea and the gingernut cookies (well, they aren’t as bad for you as other biscuits, are they?!?) with the dog and cats snoozing nearby…So here is my first point of call..

Image

The book that I am reading is by Angela McRobbie, “The Aftermath of Feminism – Gender, Culture &Social Change”.  I have only read a couple of chapters so far but it is a key text for my reearch as it is a sociological reflection and analysis into the state of feminism in our contemporary society, namely in Britain.  It discusses feminist politics and challenges the belief that ‘feminism’ is dead because women have the vote and can work blah, blah blah – IT IS FAR FROM OVER!! As women, we still have so far to go in terms of equality.  Women today often talk of being empowered – doing burlesque classes, pole dancing etc but that is not actually empowering, it may help women’s self-confidence and their body image BUT if you look into the history of burlesque, for example it was generated for the male gaze.  As a young woman, I find it shocking that there are so many women out there who would be ashamed to be called a feminist, if it was not for feminists in our histroy – the suffragettes, 2nd wave feminists like Betty Friedan and Gloria Steinem (amongst other many greats) we would not have the freedoms we have now. I do not claim to know everything, if I did I would not need to be doing my research but the more I read, the more thankful I am to women who had and do have the courage to stand up for our rights, while simultaneously looking at my everyday life to see how far we have to go. Today, I have read that women are STILL being rejected from being bishops!!

Image

 Image

Here are a couple of books that are also on my list (I have just finished “The Feminine Mystique” and suggest all women read a copy) – Natasha Walter’s, Living Dolls I have not read yet but lookforward to doing so.

I could not resist sharing the second photograph – I wanted to recommend to Vintage books that are worth a read and also look fabulous of the coffee table – Minxy Vintage by Kelly Doust, which is a great book showing and teaching you how to customise and wear vintage clothing. I enjoyed reading it and there are a couple of things I want to learn how to make from it such as the “Bewitching Brooches”, anyway the pictures are great too!

Image

The other book that the hound does not look too impressed with in the photo is, ‘Vintage Fashion’ with a foreward from Zandra Rhodes, a MUST READ, also ‘Vintage Weddings’, I have actually read these from cover to cover – it looks at the history of vintage fashion and is a great great. So go and enjoy if Vintage is your thing!

Anyways, I am off to enjoy that cuppa and gingernut with a good read..

Have a great day peeps x

2 thoughts on “A day of reading…with a gingernut and a hot cuppa!

  1. Somewhere along the line feminism has become a dirty word. A number of women in Australian media have been quoted as saying they aren’t feminists. And to those who think the work is done and things are all hunky dory – just look to the US as they are trying to limit birth control and abortion. The feminist work is far from done. If nothing else we need to stand up and make sure none of the rights those women worked so hard to win for us are lost.

    I have Minxy Vintage – but will have to check out the other books you recommend. Especially the wedding one (I am obsessed with weddings).

    • I completely agree with you. I find in concerning about the amount of young women who as you say associate it with a thing of the past or something they wish not to be associated with. As women, we have so far to go and women should not feel ashamed for wanting equality and rights for women. Limiting birth control and abortion is shocking – most of these legislations are being drawn up or raised by men – women should have full control of their reproductive rights. Why should a women be able to do the same job as a man, yet not be paid as much as a man. We still live in a patriarchal society and I think the media, policy and education have a social responsibility to fight for women’s rights. There are many men, my fiance included who think the same. These young women are our future and things need to change. – Phew! I could go on and on and on…

      The Vintage Weddings is a gorgeous book, I highly recommend it! It is by Marnie Fogg! Happy Reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

